Home Forums General Discussion Minocin & Muscle Cramps

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    fastspinW
    Participant

Hi,

After 5 years on 100mgx2 a day Minocin my face has turned a grayish blue and the whites of my eyes have a distinct blue tinge as well. So a few months ago I switched to one 100mg tablet of Doxy a day. All went well for awhile and then I began to experience a flare. As I work as a boat captain in the summer and therefore can not afford a flare at this time of year I decided to switch back to Minocin two weeks ago.

Now comes the weird part. Five years ago not long after begining AP therapy with Dr. T in Boston I began to experience muscle cramps in my legs. I asked Dr. T if Minocin could be causing there cramps and he said no. Bit by bit the cramps got worse until the point where I often was unable to get more than a few hours sleep a night.

When I say muscle cramp, I am not referring to the sort of nocturnal leg cramps everyone experiences from time to to time. These cramps are so severe as to cause great pain and they often persist for as long as 15'.

Two years ago I discovered an electronic device used to treat neuropathy (which I also suffer from as the result of being a type 1 diabetic) and this greatly helped with the cramps.

Now comes the even weirder part. When I switched to Doxy a few months ago there was a huge dropoff in both the severity and number of leg cramps! And then when I switched back to Mino the cramps returned within about 1 week. Last night I had cramps so severe in both my thighs that I almost passed out from the pain. And they lasted a bit more than 1 hour!

Has anyone noticed a relationship between Minocin and muscle cramps? And, if so, how did they deal with the problem.

Thanks,
    Winston

Maz
    Keymaster

[user=313]fastspinW[/user] wrote: