Home Forums General Discussion Getting off Abx a possibility??

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Jennhere
    Participant

Hi.  It's been awhile since I posted.  I have been debating getting off the minocycline for a few months now.  I've been pain free for … I'm thinking it's been nearly two years.  I had a bout of some joint pain last fall but I'd gotten a yeast infection and taken some diflucan… I think it was that…  It went away very quickly.  I've had zero pain.  Not even a hint of pain.  I think it's amazing.  I just don't know what to do now.  I have no health insurance, no doctor.  I've seen a primary care doc that my children see in order to get the prescriptions for mino- which I then order from Canada.  Is there some new research that says people in my position can actually get off the mino? 

Thanks.

Jenn

suera
    Participant

I have no answer I just wanted to say congratulations, you're so lucky!!

Sue

Jennhere
    Participant

I never forget that.  Every pain free day is a blessing.

lynnie_sydney
    Participant

Hi Jenn, always nice to see you back here. So good to hear you have been pain free for 2 years now! :dude: When are we going to read your testimonial?

It may be worth considering a break at least – how long have you been on the mino? Dr Brown suggested a rotation of drug at least every 4-5 years to avoid the possibility of the body developing tolerance to the drug. In your case, being pain free, perhaps a break rather than a change of abx is in oreder. My AP Doc and Naturopath (both in remission from different rheumatoid diseases) both try taking a break each year to see whether they can stop the abx altogether. So far, for them, the answer is no.  

https://www.roadback.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=studies.display&display_id=184#Anchor-Drug-5677