Home Forums General Discussion Able to engage in intense exercise?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    ekrueger
    Participant

Hey guys / girls,

Just wondering how many of you engage in intense aerobic and / or weight training activities with your diseases?  Once in remission, do you feel well enough to go out and take a kickboxing class or weight train competitively? Reason I ask is b/c I am an aerobics instructor and teach 5 classes per week. In addition, I would like to compete in figure competitions and the way to get there is through heavy weight training and a clean diet. I'm wondering what fitness goals, if any, I would have to give up if RA were to come into the picture.  Please share your thoughts and / or experiences.

thanks again,

Liz

Lynne G.SD
    Participant

Hi Liz;
        YES,I am back to where I was before this nasty disease.Now teaching ballet classes.Lots of huffing and puffing but I am now 64 so that kind of figures,no?

Maz
    Keymaster

[user=1992]ekrueger[/user] wrote:

Just wondering how many of you engage in intense aerobic and / or weight training activities with your diseases?  Once in remission, do you feel well enough to go out and take a kickboxing class or weight train competitively? Reason I ask is b/c I am an aerobics instructor and teach 5 classes per week. In addition, I would like to compete in figure competitions and the way to get there is through heavy weight training and a clean diet. I'm wondering what fitness goals, if any, I would have to give up if RA were to come into the picture.  Please share your thoughts and / or experiences.

Hi Liz,

This is a pretty interesting topic. My doctor was talking about the effects of intensive exercise and DNA destruction as a result of excessive oxidation. This subject has come up before and I think Cheryl F posted something about this in a previous thread about a year ago.