Home Forums General Discussion Why is AP so controversial?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    orchid
    Participant

I'm fairly new to this – I haven't even been formally diagnosed yet so I'm doing all my research and trying to find out as much as possible about RA and its treatments.

I'm just so confused about treatment protocol. I've read a lot of good stories about AP. I've also read a lot of information of doctors, etc saying it doesn't work, and if it does, not for long. Eventually you'll end up on the hard-core RA drugs.

Can you truly go into full remission on an AP treatment and live symptom-free? Thanks

Jennhere
    Participant

A very simple take on the negatives you hear is that there is no phamaceutical backing for A.P.  Our system is run by big pharma-  A.P. is not held by Merck or the others.  Doctors make money on the prescriptions they write if they have a deal with a pharma co.  No one's got incentive to encourage A.P…. except the patient!!  You can go to a Rheumatologist and get A.P. or you can go to a PCP and get A.P.  It can be ordered for a dollar a pill (namebrand) from Canada… See?

No money to be made.

Jenn

Cheryl F
    Keymaster

Orchid:

In my opinion you cannot adequately understand the AP treatment for RA without reading the book, The New Arthritis Breakthrough, By Henry Scammell.  You may need to read it more than once, there is alot of information.  Also, read through the information on the Road Back Foundation website.  There are several articles that provide a good rationale for why this treatment is controversial.  The book does it best.  Once you understand the history that western medicine has taken over the past century, it will make more sense, not complete sense, but some!