Home Forums General Discussion Which medication?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Anne-Marie
    Participant

Hi,

My name is Anne-Marie and I am new to roadback. I have managed to persuade my consultant and GP to back me in my quest for AP. I saw my GP today and as all my bloods have come back normal he is going to prescribe for me. I have a choice of monocycline or Doxy he says. I make him aware of NO substitutions and he tells me Doxy is generic in its own right so offered me vibromycin. I am sooooooooooo confused as what is the correct medication to start with as I dont want to get it wrong. I kinda ruled out mino because of side effects but as for the other two I dont know. Can anyone shed any light on this for me. Any input would be most appreciated. :headbang:

Todd WI
    Participant

Hi Anne-Marie,

Vibramycin is a brand name of Doxycycline:
    http://www.medicinenet.com/doxycycline/article.htm

I think the general consensus here is that the generic vs. brand issue is not as big of an issue for doxy as it is for mino.

Todd

Anne-Marie
    Participant

Todd,

Thanku so much for that link I found it most informative. I will start the AP tomorrow with the Vibromycin that the Doc prescribed for me today. MWF 100mg once daily. 😉

Todd WI
    Participant

Congrats on starting AP and welcome!

Maz
    Keymaster

Hi Ann Marie,

Just popping by to add a hello and welcome to Todd's! 😀  Nice to meet you and look forward to you joining us as you start your road back.

This is by the by, but before I met my hubby at college in Nottingham, I had a boyfriend from Barlaston, Stoke-on-Trent, in Staffs. What a lovely county you live in!

All the best starting your doxy…if you don't mind me asking, what side-effects were worrying you about mino in particular?

Peace, Maz 

Anne-Marie
    Participant

Hi Maz/