Home Forums General Discussion when am I "herxing" or when do I just have the flu?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    amyid
    Participant

Ok, I am still fairly new to all of this; so this question may seem silly, but how do I really tell a herx from a flare or flu, etc.?   I have been on the AP for over a month.  I had a bad flare a few weeks in because I had to abruptly stop the MTX I had been on.  Since that flare a couple of weeks ago, I have been feeling pretty good (back on half the dose of MTX along with AP and Plaquenil).  I still have the occassional stiffness, achy joint here and there, but nothing horrendous.  Also my fatigue and brain fog have been better the last 2 weeks.    I also usually feel worse the day after my Minocin but nothing awful.  I thought I was cruising through!

However, this past Tuesday I felt like complete CRUD:sick:!  But it wasn't the typical RA stuff, it was fluish symptoms: upset stomach, intense muscle pain in my neck and shoulders which caused a tension headache.  (no fever though) accompanied by lighting quick flashes of pain through my hands and some stiffness in wrists and knuckles.  Does that sound like a herx or the flu?   My hubby thinks it's a herx, since my joints have finally settled down enough for the Minocin to penetrate.  However, I feel like it's a flu????

I felt better today for a couple of hours after my first dose of Minocin, but now I feel like crud again.  I feel worse after I eat. 

I was just wondering when am I “herxing” or when do I just have the flu?  I guess I am afraid to hope that it's a herx.  Sounds strange, I suppose…I just desperately  want this AP to work for me (like everyone else here).  I don't want to talk myself into believing it is working so soon, if I just have the crud.  Cautious optimism or self preservation- who knows??

Any advice or opinion would be appreciated. 

Woo-hoo! What a ride!”:dude:

Amy