Home Forums General Discussion What can I look forward to?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    ccndakota
    Participant

I have been useing the treatments IV for four years now. Getting the IV's about every three months two a day 6-8 hours apart for 5 days. After the first round of treatments some weeks latter I noticed my finger nails were growing again. Years ago  I had healthy ong nails . Didn't realize until they started growing again that they had been so unhealthy. the only thing I could contribute the growth spert to was the  AP. Since that time I notice no improvements in fact I gave in and began useing Humira shots. The RA just keeps marching on doing it's damage. I'd love to hear from people who may have had the AP be slow as in 3,4,5,6, or whatever  years and then finally showing  a marked improvement in their RA. Thanks for any responses. cc north dakota.

DianeWI
    Participant

Hi Dakota,

I started AP 16 yrs. ago with the I.V.'s as well.  Prior to that time, I was down in bed and had to be moved around by my family for about three months.  I believe it was only through prayer at that time, that I managed to get up and out of bed, and able to go see a doctor who was 2 1/2 hrs. away.  In those days, aspirin was my absolute best friend.  Tylenol and Ibuprofin don't phase my pains.

Back then, I had horrible kidney pain.  In six weeks of having weekly I.V.'s and being on Minocycline, the kidney pain left.  I had suffered with that for ten years.  Also, there were times when I would fill up with fluid and not urinate for 2 days.  And then it was the Lasix that managed to move things out.

I needed help to get up off a chair.  Hubby had to grocery shop and shop for my girls.  I could not do anything.