Home Forums General Discussion Stomach pain & burning

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Nan – RA
    Participant

I have experienced pain right above my navel (like a fist) with burning accompanying it.  I'm thinking it could be an ulcer.  It lasts for hours someimes.  I take Tums but they don't seem to help. 

I take Ibuprofen for my RA pain and sometimes I take Extra Strength Tylenol.  The Tylenol doesn't seem to help as much as the Ibuprofen.  I'm sure that it isn't helping the ulcer…. rather it may have caused it. 

Right now I am on Minocycline, 100 mg. MWF.  I was on 1 every day…. and was experiencing a lot of pain.  When I cut back to 3 a week, the pain lessened.  I was wondering if I took 50 mg. MWF instead, if that would be better for me???  I have pain every day… in my ankles, wrists, neck, shoulders, arms, feet…. you name it I've got it..  I've been doing Mino for almost 2 years.  Shouldn't it be better by now??:crying:

Any help/ideas would be so much appreciated!  Thank you in advance.

Nan

Maz
    Keymaster

Nan, so sorry to hear you're still struggling. By the two year mark, you should be seeing some windows of light and improvements, though very severe and longstanding cases may take between 3 and 5 years to respond (see link below).

There is a list of things to check if you're not seeing improvement here:

http://roadback.org/index.cfm/fuseaction/education.display/display_id/89.html

I think the most important things I'd check for at this stage if I wasn't seeing some improvement would be candida, which can mimic RA pain, leaky gut and food sensitivities (caused amongst other things by candida and chronic NSAID use), secondary organisms that may need a different antibiotic, including possible Lyme disease with coinfections, and checking with doc for minocycline-induced lupus. Hypersensitivity is another possible cause that can build with time and is due to a building inability of the body to adequately detox.