Home Forums General Discussion Professions

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Healer
    Participant

Hello!
    How many of you can still work as in own business or employment? This disease makes a hardship all the way around.
    The immune system is hypervigilent I like to say and then one must be hypervigilent to live more comfortably.
    I had to resign my position and I was not dong physical labor. I went for training and opened a business last year.

JeffN
    Participant

I'm an electrical contractor and had a tough couple of years with SD. The first year before DX and then the next year, my first on mino, coming back from SD after that my condition became progressivly better, slowly but still improvement. I was fortunate to have a good crew that I could get going in the AM and sleep or do “light duty” bookwork etc. then go to the field after lunch an get a so so afternoon in. The afternoons were hard in that somedays I could pull it off and some days not so much. After work I would come home and go back to sleep. The fatigue was crushing. I became more managerial but now am able to put in a good week. I can't do what I used to in the course of a day but I am not a kid anymore either. All in all it is going well even in this dismal ecconomy. I have been taking one day or at least part of a day in the middle of the week to do billing, meeting and greeting, and organizing things. That way I can have a light day and then get back out wiring things. I used to to the billing etc. in the evening but don't do that anymore and actually that part is kind of nice.

Healer
    Participant

OK, remember I am a newby. SD as in Sjogren's?
    DX????
    Good on ya and thanks for the reply. How you do work like that with your hands I don't know, but maybe your hands are not an issue. I can relate to a fatigue that rips the day to shreds.

Joy,
    Cheryl

JeffN
    Participant

SD = scleroderma

Dx = diagnosis