Home Forums General Discussion prednisone woes

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Velouria138
    Participant
    anno
    Participant

I have no experience w/pred, But I don't want you to take it anymore either! Have you asked for a list of ap docs in your area? I don't like the sound of your doc.
     You are right, pred is immunosuppressive. There are others here who are weaning off of pred; hopefully they will chime in here….

linda
    Participant

Idk anything about traumeel, but you need to ask your doctor why he wants you to take pred as opposed to some other anti-inflammatory. ANYTHING, and I do mean anything, is better than prednisone.Ask your doctor how many of his patients have successfully and permanently stopped taking prednisone, and also ask for other options. Nothing is without side effects, and generally the stronger the anti-inflammatory, the worse the side effects, and we all end up in a pick your poison situation, but there is no drug that has as many side effects as prednisone.

Trudi
    Participant

[user=2043]Velouria138[/user] wrote:

My doctor wants me to start taking prednisone every other day and to take traumeel tablets as a replacement eventually. This doesn't make much sense to me…how can a homeopathic thing replace something like prednisone?

Am I correct in that it sounds like he wants to wean you off the pred (your signature says you are already taking it)?  I looked up the ingredients for the traumeel tablets–I think they are worth a try, especially if they work like pred but without the side effects.  I was going to write it down to talk to my doctor about it, but see that it has chamomile in it and I am allergic to it.  Darn!

BTW, I have every respect for homeopathic extracts.  They can be very powerful–they've thrown me into some painful herxes.

Trudi