Home Forums General Discussion pred and lyme

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    reesak
    Participant

Hi – I have been on Azithromycin for about 3 weeks now for lyme and am still on mino 50 mg daily.  I am also weaning down on prednisone and am on 3 mg this week and will go down to 2 mg next week and so on.  My question is for those of you that have tested positive for Lyme, did prednisone help you?  From what I've read if you have Lyme then prednisone will NOT work for you and of course it makes the Lyme worse.  However, it has worked TOO well for me and I am flaring up a lot on 3 mg.  So, at this point I don't know what to do when I go off the prednisone for the pain and flare-ups.  Today I can hardly move my left wrist and I type for a living so I am very worried.  Some days I really question the Lyme diagnosis and just wonder if I do really have RA that is not caused by lyme.  I really don't want to take the Enbrel that is sitting in my refrigerator but I am getting frustrated with this whole thing.

My doctor said I could stay on 5 mg of prednisone for the next 3 months or so while I see if the azithromycin helps at all.  I went back on the mino after stopping it when starting azithromycin because I thought it would help with the inflammation.  Should I stop the mino and  just take the azithromycin?  I just don't know what to do at this point. 

ReesaK

nspiker
    Participant

Hi Reesak,

I was diagnosed with lyme, and like you,  question the diagnosis at times.  What I do know is that there is an underlying infectious process, that treatment has helped.