Home Forums General Discussion Plaquenil

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Cherie
    Participant

Hi everyone,

Can anyone give me their experience using plaquenil.

Thanks!

bonnielou
    Keymaster

Hi Cherie. I have been using plaquenil for about 2 1/2 years now. When I was finally diagnosed in October 2007, my rheumatologist was willing to give me minocycline as long as I would also go on plaquenil. She doesn't believe in the infectious theory of RA, but she was willing to work with me.

Originally my dose was 400mg/day. That with the mino and celebrex was very hard on my stomach, and I didn't feel great the first few months. Over time, she cut the plaquenil back — to 300 mg/day, then 200, then 100. Now I only take 200 on Saturday and Sunday — so just 400 mg/week — a very low level maintenance dose. I stopped the celebrex after about 6 months as I was feeling much better. I still take mino, just 100mg MWF.

The combo has worked very well for me. I really feel great these days — not perfect, but close. I live a very normal life. My husband is an ophthamologist, and he watches my eyes carefully — but after 25 years in practice he has seen very few complications from plaquenil — although it certainly can happen.

So I think it's a good med for some. I saw my doctor earlier this month and asked her if she thought I should cut back further. She would like me to stay just where I am. It's working, I am on a lose dose of both medicines — and until something changes she wants me to keep the status quo. I like her and I trust her — so this is my protocol for now. Are you considering plaquenil?

Bonnie

Bonnie Lou
    RA 02/07,AP 10/07
    Minocycline 200mg MWF; Plaquenil 100mg 3 days/week
    Fish Oil, Ubiquinol, Turmeric, Vit C (2 grams) , MultiVit, Magnesium, Astaxanthin, D3 (5000), probiotics and a daily dose of yoga!

Cherie
    Participant

Hi Bonnielou,