Home Forums General Discussion On the road again

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    debc
    Participant

Hello,

I am new to this BB and this is my first time posting.  Jan 09 I developed severe knee and shoulder pain and swelling.  At one point they thought I had a DVT because my right leg was so swollen down to the ankles.  An ultrasound determined that I had a Bakers Cyst.  The tech performing the exam told me that an inflamatory condition probably caused this.  Around the same time I asked my GP to draw lab work.  I had a C Reactive Protien that was very high (314) and a very slightly elevated   RH factor (maybe 2 points above the high end).  I was referred to a Rheumatologist and thus began the drive into several brick walls.  I saw a Rheumy in Chicago and St Louis who offered nothing because my x-rays looked fine.  In the mean time I am experiencing sever pain in my knee, left hip and shoulder joints.  My muschles are extremely aching. and very weak.  Large doses of Advil do not help.  I am then sent to the Mayo Clinic and that was the biggest shamble to date.  They eventually did a joint scan ( to prove to me that I was OK and just a whiner) and guess what – inflamattion everywhere.  I then recieved MRI of my rt knee and ft hand which all showed chronic inflamation.  I was sent home with a plaquenil script and no info, diagnosis or follow up.  While at Mayo I read about Dr S and had an appointment but got snowed in and could not travel on the east bound road to see hinm (this was in Jan 10).  Eventually about 2 months ago three of my fingers are hugely swollen (rheumy called tyhem sausage fingers) and they hurt terribly.  Anyway, I am on my way to see Dr S and hope that he can help.  My appointment is at 9:30am and we are still on the road.  I am terrified that he will think I am crazy like all of the others – it's so discouraging when you hurt so bad and are swollen up like a blow fish and no one cares or believes you.  It's my ba