Home Forums General Discussion Occasional Prednisone Use

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Joanne NJ
    Participant

I have been doing AP for five months now with great success. The quality of my life has greatly improved. 🙂 Before AP, I had only used pred. one time over a year ago. About 4 weeks ago, I flared, and decided to do my own prednisone takedown, three days, started at 30 mg, and going down from there. I felt great right away, and then proceeded to have the best 4 weeks, walking up and down steps fine, opening jars fine, cleaning the house, I even felt like I could run. I felt like I finally turned the corner. Now this weekend I am flaring again, and feel lousy, so my question is has anyone used prednisone on an occasional use, or know if its ok to use such as only during a flare? Or is there anyone on this board who does use it occasionally. Not like every other week, but say with a 4 to 6 week time period. I know the drug can be harmful, and I can't seem to find an answer.

Thanks, Joanne 

Trudi
    Participant

[user=2273]Joanne NJ[/user] wrote:

…so my question is has anyone used prednisone on an occasional use…

I used prednisone for one week in 2005 to get through my son's wedding.  I felt just great on it.  However, the rebound was horrible–I have Lyme so that may have played into it–I was not diagnosed until 2008 so didn't know I had it.

Trudi

Lyme/RA; AP 4/2008 off and on to 3/2010; past use of quinolones may be the cause of my current problems, (including wheelchair use); all supplements (which can aggravate the condition) were discontinued on 10/14/2012. Am now treating for the homozygous MTHFR 1298 mutation. Off of all pain meds since Spring '14 (was on them for years--doctor is amazed--me too). Back on pain med 1/2017. Reinfected? Frozen shoulder?

[user=2273]Joanne NJ[/user] wrote: