Home Forums General Discussion New, please help re: Herx/side effects?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    magsmc
    Participant

I have atypical “RA” for the last 14 years, always seronegative.  Multiple joint involvement, some permanent damage in wrists and hands/feet.  I am 38 years old.  I was never tested for Lyme, sometimes wonder if it's the culprit.  Anyway, I started 100 mg. minocycline twice a day, 5 days ago, prescribed to me by the dermatologist.  Going to see new Rheumatologist tomorrow who is familiar with AP, supposedly.  Today I am so dizzy and nauseous I can hardly function, also diarrhea.  The question is, do I continue the mino. tonight or stop?  I have to care for kids, so can't continue in this state…is it o.k. to lower dosage or skip?  Any help is appreciated!

Tiff
    Participant

Mag,

I have lots of experience with minocycline at various doses.  The typical dermatologist and even a lot of AP docs will prescribe mino at huge doses (200mg/day is huge).  I went along with that both for derm reasons and for RA and now I wish I had not.

If you have not used much antibiotics in the past, you would be well served to start much slower.  Please read The Road Back by Henry Scammel recommended by this site, and then you may want to do further research at the Marshall Protocol website to find out more about why you should even use ABx for treating these diseases.  You need to decide for yourself and have a lot more information to do that.  This is not a quick fix to RA.  I know just how you are feeling right now with the nausea and dizziness.  Believe me that can't go on!

You can drop down to 100mg/day or you could even take 100mg on MWF.  That would greatly help the nausea while you learn more about the theories behind its use.  Many people have great success with treating their RA at those doses so it would not hurt you to do that, and then discuss this more with your rheumatologist later. 

magsmc
    Participant