Home Forums General Discussion mycoplasma testing

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Marianne Welch
    Participant

I am new to researching mycoplasma.  It seems to fit my symptoms and I want to be tested.     I live in Utah.   Can anyone recommend a GOOD dr. in this state that does the test?     Are there any labs on the west coast that will do the test WITHOUT a drs. request?   

Also, how do you know if the lab is experienced and will do the test dependably. 

Which test should one go for… PCR or ELISA?  This is confusing to me.  Why would anyone even do a PCR if it only finds the mycoplasma in the blood and not in any other tissue fluid? 

What are the chances of convincing conventional doctors in one's area to do the test?  Should I bypass this step and just find a dr. on the AP list of drs to chose from that the roadback sent me?   There is little selection for my state and no indication of experience level on the drs who use the AP protocol for mycop. in my area.

Thanks,    Marianne

lynnie_sydney
    Participant

Marianne – if you go to http://www.rheumatic.org, there are 3 labs which they list that do  mycoplasma testing. You can send away for this test.  A link to the section where this list appears is below: Lynnie

http://www.rheumatic.org/docs.htm

Be well! Lynnie

Palindromic RA 30 yrs (Chronic Lyme?)
    Mino 2003-2008 100mg MWF - can no longer tolerate any tetracyclines
    rotating abx protocol now. From Sep 2018 MWF - a.m. Augmentin Duo 440mg + 150mg Biaxsig (roxithromycin). p.m. Cefaclor (375mg) + Klacid 125mg + LDN 3mg + Annual Clindy IV's
    Diet: no gluten, dairy, sulphites, low salicylates
    Supps: 600mg N-AC BID, 1000mg Vit C, P5P 40mg, zinc picolinate 60mg, Lithium orotate 20mg, Magnesium Oil, Bio-identical hormones (DHEA + Prog + Estrog)

Kim
    Participant

Hi Marianne and welcome to the board.

I will send you a list of the few AP docs we have listed for Utah in a Private Message.

Take care…..kim