Home Forums General Discussion Minocycline & Polyarteritis Nodosa

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    crowchez
    Participant

I’ve been using minocycline for ankylosing spondylitis since 2010 with wonderful results. About 5 or 6 years ago, I started getting small red/purple spots on my lower legs. They were flat, didn’t erupt, weren’t itchy, would appear in the spring & fade in the fall. This year they are out of control. There are tons of them, from my ankles to my hips & for the first time, on my arms. They look like I walked into a mosquito nest. They are not flat this year but have bumps under the skin. I went to the dermatologist who was able to do a punch biopsy on one of them & it came back with a diagnosis of polyarteritis nodosa (PAN). It’s presumed to be cutaneous because I’ve had it for years with no other symptoms. I’ve seen articles on PubMed linking mino use for acne with PAN but a search here doesn’t turn up any hits. It’s considered an auto-immune form of vasculitis & treatment includes stopping mino & using immune suppressants.

Both my PCP (who has continued prescribing mino after the rheumy I saw retired) & the derm want me to see a rheumatologist. I don’t want to stop AP so I would need someone who is familiar enough with AP to both continue it & switch me to another antibiotic in case mino is the cause. I’ve requested the dr lists for NY, NJ & CT but don’t see anyone who has this kind of expertise.

So I’m wondering if anyone has any experience or knowledge of PAN & also any dr suggestions. I can travel if necessary. Thank you!

Maz
    Keymaster

Hi Crowchez,

I’ve put together a few doc options for you to check over and will send in a PM.

PhilC
    Participant

Hi Crowchez,