Home Forums Personal History and Progress Threads Jennifer Clifford's road back

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    jlc6166
    Participant

Hi All!

I should have written this long ago but I have been waiting to see what the end result would be but I finally realized that my story will continue as long as I am here and that I should just write this and edit later if anything new and exciting happens. 

I have been fighting Scleroderma since 2005, although I didn't know what it was back then.  I am a runner and have been a runner for many years.  In 2005 I had increased my running in order to train for a marathon.  I ended up in the hospital with shortness of breath and chest pain.  The doctors were dumbfounded and after a week of tests with no answers the pulmonologist who was seeing me decided that I was bringing all my problems upon myself.  He sat down in my hospital room with me and my husband and proceeded to tell me that I was a type A personality who was anxiety ridden and doing this to myself.  He said that he was sending me home with a prescription for Xanax that he highly encouraged me to use .