Home Forums General Discussion Is it possible to havediffuse scleroderma without raynauds?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    mommaof2princesses
    Participant

Everything I have read online indicates that the first thing you experience is Raynauds. I am fortunate enough not to have this terrible problem but instead my first symptom was shortness of breath. I have had shortness of breath for 4 years that drs keep saying is asthma anyone have any input? Can you have scleroderma without raynauds?

casey
    Participant

Have you read ” Scleroderma, the Proven therapy That Can Save Your Life?” by Henry Scammell? There are case histories in there and there is one that is about a woman who had scleroderma and developed raynaulds later in her disease process.

I am not an expert at this but i do know of others that have scleroderma and NEVER had raynaulds as a presenting symptom or never developed it. Others have MCTD , like me, who have symptoms of sclero, RA, lupus and myositosis and do not have raynaulds. Some who have lupus and not scleroderma can have raynaulds as well.

I dont think you have to have raynaulds to have scleroderma though it  is common .

Casey

Mumof3
    Participant

I have not been formally diagnosed with SD although I had a positive SLC70. I haven't had Raynauds, however my hands sometimes look a bit mottled. I asked the doctor and she said this is not Raynauds.

mommaof2princesses
    Participant

that happens to my hands too! I get white spots on them and when I laugh or cry (which i have been doing more of the latter lately lol) I het the white spots on my forehad and chest, I have had them on my forehead since I was a teen…) my feet get super cold and always have my toes look mildly purplish but no changes like raynauds

JBJBJB
    Participant

[user=944]mommaof2princesses[/user] wrote:

my feet get super cold and always have my toes look mildly purplish but no changes like raynauds