Home Forums General Discussion How often do you call your doctor?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    tainabell
    Participant

Hi all,

This is a sort of weird subject, but its relevant for me.  I feel like I'm new to this medical maze stuff, and I am still reluctant to put in a call to my doctor unless I'm crippled and unable to walk or in some similar dire straits. 

Like I've explained on here, I've been experiencing nausea quite often (coupled with inexplicable burping) and I'm not sure its my meds/etc.  I want to call my doctor and ask her what's going on with me and see if she can fix it but I am scared of being a bother.  Is that crazy?  Am I too much a people pleaser? 

The thing is, I would just schedule an appointment, but my insurance doesn't cover visits to her, so every time I go in there it costs me a couple hundred bucks and it is recession time! 😯

So I was just kind of hoping to get a general sort of census here on how often peopleon the board call their doctors to see if I'm normal.  Once a week?  Once a month? Only when they are bleeding/dying?  Now that I have a chronic illness do I have to be more aggressive and take more advantage of the “free” phone call?   

Thanks!

Trudi
    Participant

I've not spoken with my LLMD outside of my visits.  However, I do call the office and speak with his nurses if I have a question.  If they need to discuss it with the doctor, they call me back.

Trudi

Lyme/RA; AP 4/2008 off and on to 3/2010; past use of quinolones may be the cause of my current problems, (including wheelchair use); all supplements (which can aggravate the condition) were discontinued on 10/14/2012. Am now treating for the homozygous MTHFR 1298 mutation. Off of all pain meds since Spring '14 (was on them for years--doctor is amazed--me too). Back on pain med 1/2017. Reinfected? Frozen shoulder?

JeffN
    Participant