Home Forums General Discussion Help with choices

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Greetings all!

I have been doing the AP for 9 years now and have been delighted.  In recent months I have been in great pain – but no flare-ups.  I suspected something new and more.  My (new) doctor sent me to a (new) rheumatologist at the local hospital.

He is gentle and kind and doesn't mind using the AP.  (A huge difference to the other man 9 years ago!)

He reckons that the R.A. has become too virulent for the mild Minocycline that I take (I was on Minocycline HCL Ca 100mg (WYE) I took one in the morning).  He gave me two cortizone injections (TG – they took me back from being suicidal!) and he has given me three medications that he would rather that I use:

1. Leflunomide (Arava)

2. Salazopyrin (Sulphasalazine)

3. Plaquenil (Hydroxychloroquine).

He says that I can choose one OR we can use something else if I don't like any of those three.

I simply don't know what to do now.  Please can someone there tell me what these three are, which to use, OR what else I can try.

thanks heaps.

Kim

lynnie_sydney
    Participant

Kim – all 3 of the drugs the rheumatologist has offered you are in the conventional basket – and all come with degrees of risk. The only one I have personal experience with is sulfasalazine. I was on that for around 18 months some years ago and it did put me in remission for a few years. However, I was not willing to stay on it with all the attendant risks associated with it. My AP Doc now says that it is probably the antibiotic component of the drug that worked for me and that the sulfa component most likely did me damage.