Home Forums General Discussion Hand swollen and hurting

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    DAR
    Participant

I am having trouble with my right hand swelling and hurting all the time this started about 2 weeks after my iv predisone treatment, I use to take these treatments every week and now my dr has changed them to every 3 weeks is this from the change in the predisone treatments or is it a sign that the scleroderma is flaring?:angry:

Maz
    Keymaster

[user=387]DAR[/user] wrote:

I am having trouble with my right hand swelling and hurting all the time this started about 2 weeks after my iv predisone treatment, I use to take these treatments every week and now my dr has changed them to every 3 weeks is this from the change in the predisone treatments or is it a sign that the scleroderma is flaring?:angry:

Hi DAR,

I'm not an expert on this, but I would think that the reduction of your prednisone from weekly IVs to 3-weekly IVs is quite a big drop and you are likely suffering some rebound flaring. So probably both…change of dosing and flaring, as a result.

I haven't heard of many here having IV prednisone, but if you're suffering it might not be a bad idea to speak with your prescribing physician and ask if you can lower your doses a little more slowly. I don't know much about IV predinsone (its half life, doses, reasons for its use, etc)…are you using it for a particular reason as opposed to taking oral prednisone? Just wonder if orals might be easier to to wean from over time?

Peace, Maz

DAR
    Participant

Thanks for the replay, I think that the dr put me on the iv's because it is easier on my stomach, right now I take prilosec 2x every day to keep the acid down, but with my hand hurting the way it does I think I would rather put up with more stomach acid than this,

Thanks Darlene

superperroRA
    Participant