Home Forums General Discussion Grouchy Rheumy

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    ideamktg
    Keymaster

I saw my rheumy yesterday, after a year. I've been doing great on minocycline for several years. She prescribed it after I requested it after failing on conventional drugs and has always seemed pleased at my incredible progress. Yesterday, she looked haggard, so I'm sure she was having a bad day. She was not happy to learn that I've been experimenting with my dose since January. “Either take it or don't take it!” she snapped. She did give the o.k. to try 100 mg/day instead of her original prescribed 200 mg/day. I have been taking 100 mg. on M-W-F and, have been experiencing some tenderness and swelling in my hands again. 

I had cut back for two reasons: feeling great, and yeast. The doctor gave me no suggestions about yeast. She basically said I'd have to live with it if I wanted to be on mino. Then, to my surprise, she angrily said, “This is not my medication of choice for you.” She went through the list of RA meds, “What about MTX? What about Arava?” I told her why she had taken me off of each of those meds…elevated liver enzymes, etc. It kind of scared me to see that she remembered absolutely nothing about my history and hadn't looked through the records before the exam to refresh her memory. She made it sound like I had rejected those drugs without trying them. I could tell she had an inaccurate picture of me. It was like the first time she had ever seen me, though I've been going to her for maybe 8 years.

I had bloodwork and hand x-rays done. Sed rate test results already came in online: 2!

I've been to four rheumys since I started dealing with arthritis, including one recommended by Road Back.  I'll stick with her, since I only see her 1-2/x year, she's willing to prescribe the mino, etc. I know there's a shortage of rheumys and they're overworked…I do think that's why she was so mean yesterday!