Home Forums General Discussion Great News!!!!!

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    jlc6166
    Participant

Hi everyone!

I am so incredibly happy!  I have been fighting scleroderma for several years now, although I have only been on AP for one year.  Last year I could barely walk. 

2 days ago I ran the Virginia Beach Rock N Roll 1/2 marathon!  I actually only finished 6 minutes slower than my PR of 2 years ago!  I am so incredibly excited.  Take that scleroderma, I WIN!

I hope this gives hope to you out there who are just starting treatment.  Before I became sick running was a huge part of my life.  As I got sicker I was not even able to walk.  I remember having to stop several times on the stairs in order to catch my breath so I could finish climbing them.  This is such a great accomplishment for me.  I can't wait to call my rheumy and tell her.  I am going to make a believer out of her yet! 

Take care and God Bless,

Jennifer

Hoping
    Participant

CONGRATULATIONS!!!

Kim
    Participant

This is such great news, Jennifer, and nice to hear from you personally………you know your husband has been bragging on you. 😉

I guess it takes adversity to make us appreciate our health even more, especially when you've had to work so hard to reclaim it.  And isn't that the take-away lesson ~ IT'S HARD WORK, but can be done.  It's not easy figuring out what is going to work for us because there is no set formula for the masses.  The people that do the best on AP are those that are active participants in their care and not afraid to challenge their doctors if something is not working.  You, obviously, have done your homework.

Enjoy feeling good.

Take care…..kim

Maz
    Keymaster