Home Forums General Discussion GOING TO DR F VERSES GOING TO A LOCAL AP DOC

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Participant

Hello,

I am very new to RB, but after having discovered it last week and after having been contacted already by some very supportive people, we are regaining hope in the future.

My wife (34 yrs old) was recently diagnosed with Scleroderma.  She has no skin involvement that we can tell (as of yet).  She has been diagnosed with SD based on her SCL-70 coming back very high (550 range) 5 weeks ago.  She had it retested last week and it was back down in the 250 range.  Her symptoms are acute high blood pressure (managed sucessfully by lisinopril), sore hands (like carpal tunnel), water retention and swelling throughout her extremities, and shortness of breath.  She has had all kinds of strange pains throughout her body since October.  She is a marathon runner (2 so far) and was training for her third when things went down hill.  Her only other medical condition was hypothyroid which has been sucessfully treated with replacement hormone since 1998.

Now that we know about AP and have her dianosis, we are at a cross roads.  We would like to travel to see Dr F in California, but we live in Virginia (Military family).  Getting to Dr F would be costly as insurance will only cover a portion of his treatment fee (quoted at $4000–5000) since it is out of network for us (military insurance works funny) and the travel would be all out of pocket.

Our other option is to go with a Dr K in Northern Virginia.  He is reasonably close (2–3 hours) and was recommended to us through RB.  When I called the office I got an answer along the lines of “AP is not the preferred treatment option, but there aren't really any treatments for SD”.  It seemed that the Dr's office was familiar with AP and has used it in the past.