Home Forums General Discussion frustrating visit with the rheumie!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    susan48
    Participant

Hi All,  I guess I'm just needing to vent a little and maybe get some support …. I walked out of my rheumie's office feeling very alone after she basically told me that she didn't believe in AP and said I could make an appt to see her again when I changed my mind about my course of treatment. She said that she would not need to test me for anything unless I started taking the meds she was recommending. She would not even check my RF again, cause she said it doesn't really matter if it drops.

Obviously, I will be looking for a new rheumie, but I can't believe that I was sitting there telling her (and a new doctor in the office who was being oriented) that I was feeling so much better after being on mino for about 7 months and she just looked at me like I didn't know what I was talking about!! I'm not a doctor, but I do know that everything that I've been reading about an infectious agent makes sense. When I asked her what she thought caused RA, she said that nobody knows, but that mino may be helping me because it does have some anti-inflammatory properties.  I told her I didn't think such a low dose would make that much difference, especially over the weekends when I go for almost 3 days without any mino. The other doctor in the room was very young, so I was hopeful that he had more knowledge about AP, but he said there was not enough scientific research to back it up. When I asked if he knew about the MIRA study, he said he thought it was based on patients who did not have severe RA. I finally realized that I couldn't deal with them anymore and just said “Well, why would I want to go on meds that can harm my liver, kidneys, or eyesight if I am feeling great taking a much more  benign treatment?” I left that office with a smile on my face and disbelief in my heart! I just do not understand why they wouldn't be hap