Home Forums General Discussion First visit to AP Dr.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    magsmc
    Participant

I am back from my first visit to the “AP” Dr.  I feel disappointed and confused about what to do next.  After a long discussion and x-rays, she feels I have too much bone erosion/damage to use the antibiotic protocol as a treatment.  She feels mino. is really an option if there is mild disease, and no bone erosion, but in my case wants me to use an injection (Embrel) and possible methotrexate.  I have never used these drugs before, and have actively tried to avoid them.  I used NSAIDs up until pregnancy, and have been off meds for about 8 years while having children.  I have had joint damage along the way, I am aware, but can function day to day and don't feel it's intolerable.  Yet, the dr. says I must consider DMARDs not ust mino. or my future looks bleak due to the progression of the damage so far.  I am wondering, is it the case that mino. is not a viable treatment option if there is active inflammation and already permanent damage/erosion at some joints? 

Maz
    Keymaster

[user=411]magsmc[/user] wrote:

I am wondering, is it the case that mino. is not a viable treatment option if there is active inflammation and already permanent damage/erosion at some joints? 

Hi Magsmc,

Really sorry to hear of your disappointment after visiting the new AP doc today. I can only imagine how you must be feeling. :crying:  Of course, only being AP patients ourselves, none of us here can advise you what to do, but we can offer suggestions that might keep the light of hope on for you. I hope so…