Home Forums General Discussion Doryx vs Doxycycline?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    TischSEB
    Participant

Hi,

Has anyone noticed a difference between using brand name Doryx and generic doxycycline?
    Our new LLMD switched SEB specifically to Doryx and we are not sure why – altho it looks like the brand name is a time released form and is possible gentler on the stomach.

Tisch

mschmidt
    Participant

Tisch,

I'm not currently taking doxy so, I have no personal experience with noticing a difference between that and Doryx.  What I do know is that the main difference between the two are the dosing.  Usually the Doryx is taken once a day, and the generic is taken twice daily.  (not sure if this is the case with Lyme, though, as dosing requirements can be higher)  You are correct in that the brand name is specially coated, making it easier on the stomach.

I see you are also taking Metroprolol and Flecainide–I'm assuming you have high blood pressure and an arrhythmia?  Did your LLMD put you on those, or were you on them before?  I ask because I was one of the first recipients of Flecainide when I was a kid, for supraventricular tacchycardia.  I started to experience side effects, and was pulled off the drug, right before I underwent cardiac ablation surgery. (which successfully “cured” my problem)  It's weird because I started having heart palpitations again in 2008, about 8 months after I started to get sick.  When I was finally diagnosed with Scleroderma, the rheumy said it was “panic attacks,” and not to worry about it. (she wanted me to take clonzepam for it!!)  When I tested positive for Lyme last year, and started on meds for it, my mysterious “heart palps,” and PVC's (pre-ventricular contractions) completely went away and have not re-appeared.  Coincidence?  Makes me wonder if I had Lyme as a kid, and my heart issues where due to Lyme.  Just a thought…

Maria

Maz
    Keymaster

[user=1536]Tisch&SEB[/user] wrote: