Home Forums General Discussion Depressing Rheumy appointment

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 35 total)
  • Author
    Fran
    Participant

I went to see my rheumy today (its been a year since I've seen her last) to see if she would prescribe LDN.  She said I've really progressed with joint damage since the last time I saw her and refused to prescribe it.  She said that the AP was obviously not strong enough for me and I have permanent joint damage.  I'm really bummed.

I obviously need to do something different but not sure what to do.  I'm considering having a phone consultation with one of the doctors who are willing to prescribe LDN over the phone but that seems a little “fishy” to me.  Has anyone else done that?

This joint damage has occurred while I've been on AP (since that's the only medication I've taken since I got RA).  Has this happened to anyone else?  Where does one go from here?

Kash
    Participant

I am a newbie around here.  But keep trying to find the answer that agrees with your gut.  We know our bodies really well.  Keep going until you find the doctor your instincts are telling you is right.

lizbeth
    Participant

Hi Fran,

Sorry to hear about your joint damage.  I am only new here but was wondering if you are seeing an experienced AP dr or is your rheumy prescribing AP for you?  If what I am understanding by reading posts here is right then I would presume that if your symptoms came back in July that some other meds may be necessary.  If you are experiencing pain and inflammation and don't have this under control it will cause joint damage.  An experienced AP dr should be able to help with the correct meds to suit your indiv needs.

I hope this helps.

judy cash
    Participant

Fran,