Home Forums General Discussion Bedding

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Carrie-RA
    Participant

Hi, I'm in the market for a new bed/mattress. I swear the one I currently have does nothing to provide pain relief. Has anyone tried tempurpedic? I didn't buy one before because of the offgassing issue, but now I wonder if I made a mistake (current bed is natural rubber…very hard).

Thoughts?

spacehoppa
    Participant

Personally I always buy an Ikea bed with a sprung bed base, a sprung mattress on top and then a thick mattress pad on top of that. It is the most comfortable (and supportive in a gentle way) thing I have ever laid on.

When my arthritis is bad, having a soft and supportive bed is just about the most important thing in life. Well, that's a bit melodramatic, but you know what I mean!

It's really worth checking them out.

tiffany
    Participant

I'm new to this Road Back Found. but saw your note about mattresses.  I have a sleep number mattress but it really doesn't matter the brand I learned on a website “whatsthebestmattress.com” that you may need to put three mattress pads on the bed for pain relief.  I use two mattress pads (the very best I could find with lots of padding) and sandwiched in between those pads is a memory foam mattress pad that Walmart sells (buy the best one they market……it gets the very best reviews).  Now I'm able to sleep on my sleep number bed w/o pain (the sleep nbr matt. has pillow top but of no help to me).  Until I found the above mentioned web site I never thought of multiple mattress pads. I have RA and experience loads of pain and thought it was the mattress but learned if you need 4 matt. pads, go for it.  I did find out that I needed a firmer mattress (number) so now I'm sleeping on a firm mattress with my three pads (The Princess and The Pea Bed is what I call it).  Do make sure one of the “pads” sandwiched between the normal mattress pad is a 2″ or even 3″ memory form pad (I got the 3″)  H