Home Forums General Discussion AP, Lyme, Benicar

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Trudi
    Participant

This is my first time posting, although I have been checking the board daily since mid April.  I would like to share my story in hopes someone will also be helped as I have been helped (educated) with all of your posts.

I?ve been dealing with chronic joint/muscle pain for the last three years.  Because my RF was elevated, my internist wanted to put me on methotrexate.  Unwilling to do so, I started seeing an NP.  She concurred that my RF was elevated, but would try other methods to keep me comfortable.  For the next 2+ years I alternated between Aleve, Indo, Ibuprofin, hydrocortisone, a variety of supplements and for a time, bioidentical hormones.

In April, I saw my doctor and requested narcotics.  The pain had gotten the better of me.  I also asked the doctor if she had ever heard of the antibiotic treatment for RA.  I came across it in my Internet search for RA.  She hadn?t but said she would research it.  By the afternoon, she called back that it was worth a try and started me on Minocycline ?100 mg. 2x a day.  I felt so much better after the first dose, I have not needed to fill my narcotics prescription. Even though my joint pain was worse during the day, I was no longer bothered at all during the night.

After about three weeks taking Minocycline every day, I decided that to kill off the bacteria and hopefully keep any yeast infection at bay, maybe I should pulse the dose, so I went to the MWF 100mg bid dosing.  Along with the joint pain, I now had a lot of fatigue.