Home Forums General Discussion 6 month point,major flare. Is this common?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    stwig
    Participant

I have been taking mino for 6 months, MWF 100mg.  I felt like I was making progress (slow but steady) then a couple days ago I went into a major flare.  Every joint that had ever been affected at one time or another is exploding.  Has any one else had a major set back at 6 months?   Is this to be expected?
    I am getting the mino prescription from my rheumatologist, but she is not a believer in AP, and has said on several occasions that when I get worse she would insist on my starting methotrexate.  As such, I cannot ask her if this is just part of the process.

Thanks,
    Starla

MaryP
    Participant

just bumping this up for Starla 🙂

Patti D
    Participant

Hi Starla,

I wish I had an answer for you. I am new to this also, 8 months of minocycline. I have had some really good weeks and some not so good weeks but nothing even close to the week I first saw the doctor 8 months ago. I suspect you are having a big die off of mycoplasma, herx. I have had a lousy week too and am greatly affected by the weather. It brings out the worst in me:roll-laugh:

what I can tell you is don't be stingy on the advil or what ever you are taking for inflammation. Try those epsom salt baths as well and use the heating pad. I did that today and it did help.

What ever you do, don't let the arthritis “mind game” play tricks with your treatment decisions. You are on the right road back to good health and this treatment is the least toxic of all treatments offered so hang in there. It is said often that you take 2 steps forward, a one step back so I too am listening to that wisdom. Maybe the herx will be short lived, less that before. Also try to figure what food could trigger this or stressful situation. It's a lot to absorb but you will get to know how your body functions better than anyone else.