Home Forums General Discussion Worsening after switching from Doxy to Mino

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    m.
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I’ve been doing really well on Doxy since 2008, nearly forgetting I even have arthritis!

Last month I switched to generic minocycline (Teva) due to the Doxy shortage & subsequent 10-fold increase in price.

Unfortunately, the switch has upset whatever truce my body, the microbes, and Doxy had agreed upon. I am really sore, and I’ve noticed that I’ve been tiring easily.

I realize I’ve been very fortunate, and we’re talking about [only] having to take some Advil for the pain plus not being able to lift anything too heavy because my wrists and elbows cannot handle it.

But boy! What a shock to be going through this again! I haven’t had this much joint pain since 2008-2009, and going through it again filled me with fear.

Dr. S in Iowa thinks I’m having a Herx in response to the antibiotic change, and he has okay’ed the switch back to Doxy (just switched back yesterday).

I’m hoping my body will return to a state of remission and equilibrium very soon!

Wishing everyone good health!

PhilC
    Participant

Hi,

In a way, it’s good that this happened. It shows that, despite the fact that you’ve been feeling great, you are still infected. After you are feeling better, I think you should try switching to minocycline again. If you do it slowly it should be much easier than just suddenly switching. That’s what I did. When I first tried mino it gave me headaches and joint pains, so I lowered the dose to 25 mg and then increased it very slowly until I was taking 100 mg without any headaches or joint pains. You can read how I did it here: How I slowly increased my dose of minocycline .