Home Forums General Discussion visual disturbance

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Participant

I hesitate to post this but I am still learning about AP. I have had difficulty taking the minocycline. Currently, my doc switched me to 200 mg of doxy 3 days a week with an alternating of 50 mgs of the mino on the opposite days. I went to the eye doctor due to visual disturbances. The pressure in my eyes are normal. I am wearing contacts that give me 20/20 vision. Yet, I think I am having issues as things seem blurry. It seems that I may be seeing flashes of light and I am sensitive to light. I don’t have a headache or nausea or anything like that at this low dose. I did have that at a higher dose of the mino. Is this bad? I mean I don’t seem to make the progress on the doxy that I do on the mino. I don’t want to risk my vision either. I hate to call the doctor one more time with issues. Can you have intracranial pressure without the headache?

niteowl
    Participant

You would be wise to schedule an appointment with an ophthalmologist. RA can affect organs like eyes and lungs as well as joints. Perhaps as the mycoplasma die off, it is increasing this aspect of the disease. I too am having much difficulty with my eyes, mostly dry, painful, with blurred vision. I have been wearing eye protection such as safety glasses or light tinted sunglasses. I’ve also been using OTC ( over the counter ) eye lubricant drops, Systane lubricant anytime gel specifically. The lubricant is very important to help prevent abrasions to the corneas as there isn’t enough natural lubricant in your eyes that would normally protect your eyes. But do get to an Eye Doctor ASAP.

Diagnosed with RA in 2012
    Fifth Disease in '03
    Lyme? in 2000?
    Had radioactive ablation of hyperactive thyroid in 1997
    autoimmune thrombocytopenia resolved
    Anemia resolved with treatment of RA with Minocycline
    Blood type: B neg

Meds: