Home Forums General Discussion Rituximab…

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Hello everyone,

I’m going to try and be as brief as possible… my mother in law (Scleroderma sufferer for over 30 years) recently had what appears to be a mini stroke – a number of small lesions in the brain have appeared in an MRI, along with associated symptoms.

She is making a good recovery from that, however the docs are now suggesting to switch to Rituximab asap given the progression of the disease (she has been tested for all sorts of things since the mini-stroke, such as vasculitis, lupus etc, all negative).They are therefore putting down this event ‘due to the scleroderma’, which doesn’t convince me 100% but then I’m no doctor!

They have cleared her of all infections, so in theory she is ready to go. However, her finger nails and toe nails are heavily infected with what we suspect is Candida (by we I mean the dermatologist). She definitely has fungus, and he suspects that it is Candida, the cultures are still to come back to confirm.

My question is, is having this fungus in her nails a potential issue when on the rituximab? Rheumy didn’t seem worried as it is isolated in the nails (we think – no blood test has been done to check for any other traces anywhere else). And, this is the same rheumy who always said that her nail appearance was ‘part of scleroderma’, for over 10 years now. Of course my wife and I disagreed and got the tests done ourselves, and low and behold!

Also, what are peoples thoughts on rituximab? Reading up about it online just scares me… some people suffer from death after first infusion (rare but possible), and the chance of series infection down the line is high…

Such a shame as we had her visa appointment booked to go see Dr F in LA, but her stroke happened TWO DAYS BEFORE the visa appointment! I feel that AP is a far safer way to go, the issue is things are progressing and we don’t want to wait for her only to get worse…