Home Forums General Discussion Ranboxy vs. Actavis

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    jasregadoo

Hi All,

I’m new to the AP, almost one month in. My first rx of Minocycline is capsules made by Ranboxy. It’s too soon to know if they’re helping or not, but I’m wondering if when I refill, if I should ask for another brand? I’ve seen some discussion of Ranboxy and the FDA on this board, and I’m wondering if people have good luck with them.

I called my pharmacy, and asked what other options they have. They said they prefer Ranboxy, but they also have Actavis, so I can refill with that if I prefer.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

Thanks so much,

J

PhilC
    Participant

I won’t recommend one over the other, but here’s a little info for you:

Ranbaxy mino is made in the U.S., and contains no synthetic dyes.
    Actavis mino is made in India, and the 100 mg capsules contain D&C Red No. 28 and D&C Yellow No. 10.

NOTE: This information applies to the U.S. market; it may not be accurate for markets outside the United States.

Phil

"Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth."
    - Albert Einstein

jasregadoo

I tried to fill my rx with tabelets rather than capsules, and the prices was 6x higher. Capsules are about $50 for 60, tabelets are almost $300 for 60, and brand name Minocin was about $970 for 60. This is all with my insurance.

I’m sticking with my Ranbaxy capsules for now. If they don’t work I may have to rethink things. Frustrating.

JoAnnC68
    Participant

Hello…

I wanted to let you know I started out on the Ranbaxy brand (100mg cap) in Aug 2012, and I’m still taking it today. Never used any of the other brands so I can’t compare. The Ranbaxy brand has worked great for me. In fact, last Oct 2014, my blood worked showed that my R factor was 23.1 a big drop from my high of 615.5. WooHoo!! 😀 lol, I’m very Happy, I’m doing great and I’m pain free!