Home Forums General Discussion RA and minocycline

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    marinastarbucks
    Participant

Hi All,
    I am new to this discussion board. Long story short I was diagnosed with RA in 2007 although I am seronegative and have normal sed rates. After arguing with my doctor after a year I caved and started taking enbrel and mtx. It helped. My mom is into natural health and urged me to see a doctor in Boston who prescribes antibiotic therapy. I just started taking minocycline and am pretty serious about getting off the enbrel as I am more than scared to death about the side effects. Something happened to me where I just woke up and I don’t want to take the immuno-suppresant drugs. It just seems logical that they will make things worse eventually. So first of all, I am really scared. Second, has anyone who has RA had good luck with minocycline? I am at the point where I am ready to maybe go gluten free or do anything. I just want to be healthy. MSR

Maz
    Keymaster

@marinastarbucks wrote:

Hi All,
    So first of all, I am really scared. Second, has anyone who has RA had good luck with minocycline? I am at the point where I am ready to maybe go gluten free or do anything. I just want to be healthy.

Hi MSR and a warm welcome!

You’re just up the I95 from me a ways…we’re on our way up to Dartmouth tonight for a college swim meet for my daughter. ๐Ÿ˜€