Home Forums General Discussion RA and Hormones

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    domgro
    Participant

I’m taking Minocycline twice a day and it helped me to get off prednisone within 4 months.
    Its a great milestone ,but I still have a lot ahead of me.
    I still have swellings and obviously the deformities wont go away that fast ,if ever (probably have to have surgery)
    but another thing that bugs me just as much as my swollen and/or deformed joints is my underweight/skinny appearance.
    recently I have been reading again about the effects of RA on hormones.
    I was already interested in that topic few years ago,but after I got my testosterone and DHEA tested and the Endocrinologist said,that my hormones (testosterone) were normal and despite the DHEA was quite low,I accepted his statement and didnt do any more research.I’m pretty sure now,that despite his statement,I have a significant imbalance in some hormones.
    Now I’m reading,that often (or always) the estrogen and androgen ratios are messed up in RA patients and too much estrongens are more likely to enhance an autoimmune response and androgens are more likely to supress that response.
    that might be a reason,why women are suffering more often from arthritis than men.

I know,if Mino works as an antibiotic,my hormones will (hopefully) normalize and I will gain weight again.
    but what if the current effect of minocycline is only due to its anti inflammatory effect,enough to keep me off prednisone ,but not enough to achieve remission or to normalize my hormones?

I know that some might think,that I just have to wait and see if minocycline works,but I have this disease more than half of my life and I lost basically all of my teenage years due to that disease.
    No need to mention,that I want to try anything that will speed up or help me even more to recover.

Is here anybody who knows about that topic?