Home Forums General Discussion RA, and confused

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    lorena9
    Participant

hello I am new to Road Back.
    I have been diagnosed with RA a few years ago, and because it was “manageable” I did not take medication, Just kept a good diet and learned how to pace myself. I would get flare ups, different areas, gravitating from fingers to wrist, toes to ankles, shoulders neck etc.. and then it would go away. Two year ago, when the pain became more intense I decided to take Hydroxychloroquine (200) but my eyes were effected, I was developing renal toxicity, so i stopped it.
    Two months after I stopped the medication my symptoms seem more aggressive and last longer, and the pain , when there, is more intense. What is puzzling me though is that also my fatigue is worse, It is as if I have the flu, every muscle aches, sometimes my body feels tingly, and i am short of breath. I have no energy at all. I assume that this a big part of RA, yet I am confused as all the rheumys I see tell me that these symptoms have nothing to do with RA and tht i need further testing (ie cardiologist etc…) They are only concerned with the joints whereas I feel as if I am being attacked and not just in the joints.
    THis is why I strongly believe that RA is an infection!! I just feel sick. I assume this is part of the picture??
    I am reading Scammell now, and spoke to my GP in London, where I live, who is willing to put me on a course of doxycycline.(He plans on testing me for mycoplasmal antibodies). I referred him to Roadback foundation and the physician’s protocol.
    I guess I am reticent about starting AP a bit blindly, but if he starts me on a low dose it might be alright and it might help with this overall feelings of not being well.