Home Forums General Discussion Question about when to personally start AP

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    kolby
    Participant

This is my first time posting so I will try to make it as short as possible. I joined the board back in September and have been actively logging on ever since. Let me start by saying how ecstatic I was/am that I came across RBF as it has relieved so much of my anxiety. Everything that I researched was nothing but doom and gloom and I was scared to death until I stumbled on to Rheumatic.org which of course, led me here. I am posting today to ask all of you what you would

Maz
    Keymaster

@kolby wrote:

Here

Parisa
    Participant

I think Maz has covered alot of ground in her post and I agree with everything she’s said. For my husband, his disease started with swollen palms and shortness of breath. About a month later, the symptoms started to increase and after an initial “diagnosis” by a rheumatologist of scleroderma he was moved into the mixed connective tissue disease category. A couple of years later, his disease had progressed enough for the doctors to then pronounce that he had dermatomyositis. As Maz stated, my husband’s eventual diagnosis of Lyme disease with the co-infection of Babesia lead to greater treatment options.

I can understand your reluctance to treat something that so far is benign. If we only had crystal balls, we would know whether your current approach is going to be enough to ward off the disease. I do know that once these autoimmune conditions build up steam they can turn into virtual wildfires and be very difficult to put out.

kolby
    Participant

Hi Maz, Hi Parisa,

So happy you responded and thank you so much for your insight!

Maz you are truly amazing and have touched on everything that I have been struggling with. I did read the New Arthritis Breakthrough back in September and promise to get it back from my neighbor and read it a second time. I

lynnie_sydney