Home Forums General Discussion Pancreatic duct dilation

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Anne-Marie
    Participant

Can anyone help me here please? I have been using minocycline since 2009 and in 2011 had my gallbladder removed. January 2012 I had a dilated pancreatic duct. I have been monitored and my latest MRI showed more dilation of the duct. Does anyone know of a connection between minocycline use and this dilation of the pancreatic duct? I wondering whether it may be in my interests to stop taking the mino. I am terrified as my father died from pancreatic cancer in 2008. I am in a flare atm and have been since september. I take the mino…. mon, tue, wed, thurs, fri.
    Many thanks.
    Anne-Marie.

Maz
    Keymaster

@Anne-Marie wrote:

Can anyone help me here please? I have been using minocycline since 2009 and in 2011 had my gallbladder removed. January 2012 I had a dilated pancreatic duct. I have been monitored and my latest MRI showed more dilation of the duct. Does anyone know of a connection between minocycline use and this dilation of the pancreatic duct? I wondering whether it may be in my interests to stop taking the mino. I am terrified as my father died from pancreatic cancer in 2008. I am in a flare atm and have been since september. I take the mino…. mon, tue, wed, thurs, fri.
    Many thanks.
    Anne-Marie.

Hi Anne-Marie,

I always remember you, because we both had old boyfriend’s from Barlaston! 😉

I did some checking around and it seems that dilated pancreatic ducts are mostly caused by chronic inflammation of the pancreas (or chronic pancreatitis). Whether minocycline is a cause of this isn’t clear. I couldn’t find any connection online, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t one either. Do you get regular labs run of your pancreatic enzymes?