Home Forums General Discussion Now it’s my husband’s turn

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Calida
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I’ve been using AP for almost 6 years, stopping the progression of diffuse scleroderma (scl-70 ab) with lupus overlap, and reversing many signs of the disease. Other than a reaction to a new med and possible TIAs (mini-strokes) causing reading & writing issues, I’m doing well. Now it’s my husbands turn.

After an arm injury last summer requiring IV abx, my husband began to have severe, debilitating, migrating joint pain. Fast forward to November, he was correctly diagnosed with Palindromic Rheumatism. His lab results for RA (RF, CCP) have been high on occasion since 2014 with no signs of the disease. However, latest labs show his CCP to be off the charts, >250, his RF is high at 35, and his CRP is high at 65.7. He also has Graves Disease, in remission since 2014 on LDN, and a cardiac history.

I was able to get an almost immediate appointment (within 3 days) for him with an LLMD/rheumatologist who is a past president of ILADS and about 20 minutes from our home. She ran a full Lyme panel and the results just came in today: negative for Lyme and co-infections. I’m surprised and not surprised as I know that Lyme is stealth. He did test CDC positive for Lyme in 2015 after an indeterminate result from Igenex in 2014 but we don’t have the CDC results and that doctor has since passed. The local LLMD said she would treat him with the usual; methotrexate, biologics, etc….but we can’t let that happen. I asked the nurse/receptionist for the local LLMD if the doctor tested for mycoplasma fermentans, c.pneumoniae, or other possible triggers and she (not pleasantly) snapped that the doctor knows exactly what to test for, so it’s my guess those tests were not included.