Home Forums General Discussion Newbie with Questions

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    clong1057
    Participant

I am in only my second week of AP and I did great the first week, no reaction at all. I do 100 mg. MWF Doxy to start. I know my Dr. told me to avoid prolonged sunlight and I have but today riding in to work (about 40 minute drive) the sun was coming through the windows the whole way and when I got to work I looked in the mirror and my face was beet red and my left arm. Could that be possible through the windows and should I just wear sunscreen all the time to be safe? It has stayed bright red for the five hours I have been at work. I’m new at this and not sure if it is the sun or a reaction but I had no problem last week. Also I seem to get the runs a bit the day after taking my pills…is this normal? My paperwork from Dr. says to stop pills if this happens but it seems I have read that others have had this and it’s not real bad so I don’t want to stop. Any help or suggestions from others would be appreciated.

richie
    Participant

Taking a med in the tetracycline family {such as doxycycline} can make your skin very sensitive to the sun –wile I have never been bothered by this many people have —the redness will clear up –just use a strong sun screen –good luck –
    richie

Maz
    Keymaster

@clong1057 wrote:

Also I seem to get the runs a bit the day after taking my pills…is this normal? My paperwork from Dr. says to stop pills if this happens but it seems I have read that others have had this and it’s not real bad so I don’t want to stop. Any help or suggestions from others would be appreciated.

Hi Clong,

It’s nice to meet you and a warm welcome!