Home Forums General Discussion Newbie here :)

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Oksana
    Participant

Hello, everybody! My name is Oksana, and I live in Ukraine. I was inspired to go AP by some of your awesome success stories. Long story short, I was recently diagnosed UCTD with strong SSc features (Ana 1:320 fine speckled, moderate Raynaud’s, SSC capillary pattern fingers swelling in the morning, joint pain and stiffness, heart palps, mitral valve prolapse, gastric problems, recent discoloration of the skin). In 2011 and ’12 had two tick bites followed by rashes and then high-grade fevers with terrible nausea and bone pains. Tests for Lyme are negative, but…but.
    I’m scared and, being only 27, want to live very much. Need some encouragement from you.
    Also, I’m planning to take LDN. Are there any patients who benefited from it?
    Today I bought my 1st box of 100mg Doxy. Fortunately, Ukrainians are free to buy any antibiotics without prescriptions. Hope it works.
    Every 3 months I’m going to write about my progress

Maz
    Keymaster

Hi Oksana,

Welcome to the RBF discussion forum and sorry to hear about your tick bites and UCTD. If you had the EM (erythema migrans) rashes following your tick bites, then this is enough evidence to diagnose borreliosis, with or without positive tests. The rashes are definitive for the infection. It was 4 or 5 years ago, but did you happen to take any pictures of your rashes? Ticks can also be tested for infections and it’s often more accurate than human testing, which is mostly a form of indirect testing that involves looking for a person’s antibody response to various proteins of the Lyme bug. Unfortunately, there are several hundred strains of Lyme in the world and the standard tests don’t look for all and Lyme is also very immune-suppressive, so can suppress the body’s ability to produce enough antibody to show up on the test.