Home Forums General Discussion New to the Message Boards!

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    TashaBear
    Participant

Hello, I’m new to the message boards, but I’m looking for a little advice or maybe some reassurance? I’m not quite sure, anyways, My name is Tasha and I’m 22 years old.

I started to have symptoms of stiffness and just feeling achy back in September 2011. I went to my regular doctor, they did blood work which showed my SED rate was high. Because of the high SED rate I went to see the Rheumatologist right away. While there I had tons of blood work done, as well as x-rays. After all the tests I was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis. I was put on plaquenil, 200mg twice daily. The plaquenil did not help and my SED rate continued to increase. In March 2012 it was 45, May 2012 it was 47, and June 2012 it was 49. My rheumatologist at the time wanted to put me in a study, and my mom wasn’t going to have any of that. So she started to do some research of her own.

I started my antibiotic treatments in July 2012, receiving my five day IVs. After the IV’s I started taking minocycline 100mg Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. I was hospitalized in September 2012. I guess it was a really bad flare up, I couldn’t really move or do anything. While at the hospital my SED rate was 47. I received my second round of IV treatment in December 2012, and I’m still talking the minocycline the three days a week. I also take Celebrex 200mg daily.

I had an appointment at my Rheumatologists last week, and he wasn’t really happy with my decision to do the Antibiotic treatments, and he said it was not working for me. After the blood work that day, my SED rate was 57.