Home Forums General Discussion Lyme or RA.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    maggieh
    Participant

I am so glad I found you folks! I have been battling Lyme for more than 15 years and two weeks ago was told I have RA. I have a bottle of Methotrexate on my dining room table , never opened it because I am terrified of suppressing my immune system! I have explained this to my Rheumy but she insists if I had 30 days of Doxy I can’t possibly have Lyme any longer 😡 . I need someone who will listen to me! I had dizziness for many years before the joint pain and swelling in my hands started. Please tell me more about minocycline(sp?) Finding this site has made my day!

Lynne G.SD
    Participant

Hi Maggieh;
    I hate to say it but your doctor is full of bologny.Use the “search” next to the”reply” and type in Lyme.You will find mountains of info.Look for posts done by our all knowing Maz.This should keep you reading for the next week.

Calida
    Participant

@Lynne G./SD wrote:

Hi Maggieh;
    I hate to say it but your doctor is full of bologny…..

😆 I agree with Lynne, maggieh! Maybe it’s time you found an LLMD (Lyme Literate doc) who can test properly and address the underlying Lyme and possible co-infections. I thought I could just treat the autoimmune disease with mino but Lyme really throws a wrench into the works. But don’t worry, an LLMD usually knows how to cover all the bases and will tailor your treatment to fit your particular version of RA/Lyme. I’m having great success after just 3 months of AP and that’s because my LLMD went straight for the Lyme and hit his target.

Check out ILADS.org, great information. Many of us here are dealing with a Lyme trigger for our autoimmune disease so you should feel right at home 🙂

Cali

Dx: Diffuse Systemic Sclerosis/SLE overlap, Raynaud's June 2013, Lyme August 2013
    AP: Azithromycin (Teva) 250mg BID, May 2014, Clindamycin 600mg every 8 hours for 2 weeks July 27, 2015 - Aug 10, 2015