Home Forums General Discussion IV Clindamycin

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    finsfan
    Participant

Hello,

Can someone please comment on your experiences/knowledge of adding IV Clindamycin to fight Sclero? Both good and bad. Trying to find out more before deciding whether to start the treatment.

Thanks so much.

mschmidt
    Participant

finsfan,

Welcome to Road Back! I can only tell you about my experience with clindy iv’s, which has been extremely positive. I’ve been doing 5 day, once monthly clindy iv’s since January of 2009, and I’m VERY close to remission, with 90-95% of my SD symptoms completely reversed. I will say though, that the first 6 months of the iv’s were HELL for me–I had a lot of swelling, pain, burning and worsening of skin tightness throughout my entire body. Thank God I had people on this forum, as well as an experienced AP doctor to guide me through those dark months or, I’m not sure I would’ve been able to get through it. My herxheimer reaction was ridiculous BUT, I went from feeling horrible to NO pain, it seemed over night. SInce then, I have built my body up–I call it the “untangling” of my body, since I was so tight and had NO range of motion for 1 1/2 years. Now, I run 6x/week, at 8 minute miles again, feel fantastic, and barely notice I’m sick anymore. I was REALLY sick in January of 2009, and wasn’t sure I was going to make it, therefore, wanted to be as aggressive as I could with treating it, since I was progressing so quickly. Another important component of my recovery was getting tested for Lyme Disease, and starting aggressive combo antibiotic therapy immediately. On a scale of 1-10 prior to all of this, I was at a 15 level for pain every day. For the last 10 months, I’m at a 1-2, which I attribute to being 40 years old, not to SD. 😀