Home Forums General Discussion Is there anyone with scleroderma in remission?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    lanolin
    Participant

I am just beginning AP and desperate to hear some remission/ success stories. I was diagnosed with systemic sclerosis with diffuse scleroderma. I may have mild lung fibrosis and minimal skin thickening. Also, has there been anyone here with breast implants and scleroderma?

richie
    Participant

Hi

There are many success stories of people using antibiotic and obtaining remission from scleroderma –I had a bad case and am now in total remission -takes awhile but its really the best road to go in my opinion —The Western Journal of Medicine cites a study of 72 people who had implants –38 got scleroderma —that should answer your question —me -I never had implants !!!!LOL
    richie

Lynne G.SD
    Participant

Hi Lanolin;
    I also am in remission.Started AP 16.5 years ago.By year 2 I was about 80% normal.By year 4 I was my old self again.I had a rough time with herxing,the sweating,the itching as my skin lost it’s fibrosis but still had the breaking teeth and bone absorbtion in my jaw for the first 3 years.Now the only thing that bugs me is that I have absolutely nosub cutaneous fat and that has left my skin kind of wrinkly.There is now a theory that it is this sub cutaneous fat that feeds the collagen.I came across this info about 6 months ago but never saved it so now I can’t even find it.I know that it was on the Inspire site.the one thing I did not know for over a decade was that I also have Lyme and that made the SD even worse.
    Hang in kid,you will eventually catch up with the rest of us.

may8
    Participant

Richie & Lynne,