Home Forums General Discussion Herxing or not???

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    clong1057
    Participant

I’ve read a lot about the Herx reaction and most of what I read states that you will usually get them within a few days of starting AP. I have been doing the treatment for about 4 months now and suddenly a few days ago I was feeling great and got out of the shower and had a sudden pain in my left shoulder and neck area. I did not pull anything in the shower it just started out of no where. Today is Monday and I still have that pain and it has moved to my underarm (like a pinched nerve sort of) and neck also some pain in my head and I keep getting real hot that only lasts for a few minutes and a little dizzy occasionally. Could this be herxing or should I be more concerned?

niteowl
    Participant

Hi C,
    One of the Moderators here, Maz has alot of experience with Herxing. I’m sure she will have some advice on how best to handle this. In the meantime I had a day about 3 weeks after I had started tx with Minocycline(100mg twice everyday). I couldn’t stand up or move without severe pain and ended up going to the ER as I wasn’t able to get a hold of my DO. After taking xrays there( showed degenerative changes). I was given muscle relaxers and pain Rx ( Vicodin 325/5 ) . I had to stay in bed for the next couple of days and just slept, took the muscle relaxers ( generic Soma ), this really helped! I also abstained from the Minocycline for a week as I may have become hypersentive to the Mycoplasma die-off. Also I use a heating pad to my upper back/ Rt shoulder.

I think you should probably see your Dr or ER to rule out any acute problems. Hopefully you will get a Prescription for something to relax your muscles and a pain Rx. A week after my trip to the ER, I went to my DO and got a prescription for both so when I get into trouble in the future, I’ll have a plan.