Home Forums General Discussion eye problems with JRA

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    gordbentley
    Participant

yah my eyes get scratchy sumtimes but nothing huge. eye inflammation is associated with all kinds of arthritis but is more common with reactive arthritis and ankylosing spondylitis. my joints are doing pretty good but i get eye discomfort here and there. but im not a doctor so i dunno if what i said helps other than the fact that it is a symptom you can get with these conditions

Suzanne
    Participant

I’m sorry this has come up for you, but I wouldn’t panic yet. It is good that she is getting regular eye exams because it will catch anything that is brewing. If your ped opth is like ours, he will treat at the first sign of trouble. My daughter has used pred forte drops twice in the six years since she was diagnosed. He prescribes them even for just one inflamed cell. Both times things settled right down and I hope that will be the case for your child, too.

I am seeing other parents post more and more often about uveitis that is so hard to control in kids who are on biologics. It seems like if they control the arthritis, it comes out somewhere else.

Mom of teen daughter with Poly JIA since age 2. Current med: azithromycin 250 mg MWF.

Suzanne
    Participant

Transam deleted the original question?

Mom of teen daughter with Poly JIA since age 2. Current med: azithromycin 250 mg MWF.

gordbentley
    Participant

it appears so? hope her kid is ok

Maz
    Keymaster

@Suzanne wrote:

Transam deleted the original question?

Hi Suzanne,

I was wondering about that, too…where the original question went? I don’t think forum members have the ability to delete posts and they need to ask a moderator to do that for them if they want their own post removed, so I’m concerned this new person’s post might have been deleted by mistake with all the SPAM we’ve been getting.